Best of the best

Published on Tuesday, 07 June 2022 06:49

Carson Cherepak was the recipient of this year’s Cam Alf Memorial Award as Dauphin Kings’ Most Valuable Player.

The Kings goaltender also shared the Most Valuable Playoff Performer Award with forward Logan Calder and topped the Parkland Source for Sports Three Stars, with Kaden Bryant named second star and Parker Malchuk was the third star.

Malchuk was named the winner of the Joe Dawson Memorial Award as Best Defenceman and Calder took home the Barry Trotz Award as Best Defensive Player.

Roblin’s Brayden Dube won two awards, taking home the Ernie Hlady Memorial Award as Most Popular Player On and Off the Ice and he shared the Dauphin Minor Hockey Award as Rookie of the Year with Gilbert Plains product Jayden Jubenvill.

Luke Morris capped off a successful rookie season by winning the Dauphin Herald Award for Outstanding Character and the Bill and June Brychka Atta Boy Award.

Other award winners were Colby Jaquet, who won the Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Memorial Award as the Most Gentlemanly Player; Klim Georgiev won the Johnny Kay Memorial Award as Most Inspirational Player; Nick Braun won the Dave Snitka Memorial Award as Most Improved Player; and the Dave Seeley Memorial Award for Community Involvement went to Cordell Coleman. The awards were handed out, May 30.

Read 159 times