Gilbert Plains crowns new golf club champions

Published on Tuesday, 20 September 2022 07:25

The Gilbert Plains Country Club hosted its annual club championships, Sunday, with 57 golfers teeing off.

Gloria Carmichael captured the ladies title, carding a 104 to record a one-shot victory over Jenna Wreggit. Linda Hamilton was three back of Carmichael to finish third.

Boston Karlson ran away with the junior title after shooting a 77, to post an 18-shot win over runner-up Ronin Mouck, who shot a 95. Nolan Dutchek was third with a 99.

Christian Laughland shot a 73 to win the men’s title, finishing one ahead of runner-up Chad Facey. Dale Murray was third, one back of Facey.

Bruce Parker won the first flight on a countback over runner-up Nathan Zadorozny and Ron Chapen who finished third. They all carded an 87.

Wayne Bazylo’s 95 won him top spot in the second flight, finishing one shot ahead of Bill Murray. Tom Hanke was third with a 97.

Closest-to-the-hole winners were Jon Tomlinson on no. 4, Florence Burdeny on no. 9, Laughland on no. 14 and Al Truman on no. 17.

Read 325 times