Swan Valley Star and Times News

Tuesday, 31 January 2023 08:12

DEEP FREEZE

The Swan Valley entered the polar vortex last weekend, with temperatures getting as cold as -35.7C on Sunday (Jan. 29). Forecasts indicate that the cold snap is short lived, with weather returning to single digit temperatures by the upcoming weekend.
Monday, 23 January 2023 15:52

BARBARIAN KINGDOM

Crime around town is out of hand in Swan River, affecting properties and business owners. A piece of graffiti on the back of the Veterans Community Hall seems to illustrate how the repeat criminals in the area are ruling the community. McKay’s Self Storage units are now fenced off after…
Tuesday, 17 January 2023 08:06

Latest piece of snow art

In case you missed it driving through Swan River’s north side, pictured here is Derryl May’s latest piece of snow art carved on his front lawn, as it was soon after completion — a fox and feather in honour of his wife Laura May’s pottery business. (INSET) The Fox and…
Tuesday, 10 January 2023 07:48

Beautiful Frost

Recent foggy weather has left the trees covered in frost more than one day in the past week. This stretch of trees along Eighth Avenue South were a beautiful sight to see yesterday morning.
Tuesday, 03 January 2023 08:11

News in Review

Tuesday, 27 December 2022 08:55

A very Merry Christmas

Families were welcomed backed to gymnasiums across the Valley as Christmas concerts and productions returned at all levels.
Tuesday, 20 December 2022 08:04

Ho Ho Ho

The frigid temperatures didn’t stop the crowds from coming out on Friday night (Dec. 16) to Mistletoe Magic at the Swan Valley Historical Museum. A huge crowd lined up for the opportunity to ride on the horse drawn sleigh and witness the magic of the lights while riding on straw…
Tuesday, 13 December 2022 08:33

The Music of Christmas

The Swan Valley Community Band presented The Music of Christmas on Friday (Dec. 9) at the ESRSS Gymnasium. The band played a selection of tunes with a brief intermission by the Highly Strung ukulele group.
Tuesday, 06 December 2022 08:20

100+1 years

Swan River resident and World War Two veteran Keith Fulford celebrated his 101st birthday at the Royal Canadian Legion Br. 39 on Friday (Dec. 2), surrounded by friends and family. Fulford is one of a few World War Two veterans left from Swan River, and one of less than 20,000…
Page 1 of 5